Testimonials

“Just to say what an amazing day I had on Saturday. Steve was fantastic and we were blessed with amazing autumnal weather. Please pass on my thanks and I will definitely be booking on another course in the new year.  Thanks”.  Stefan Beavis, New Forest, November 2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Thank you very much for the notes you have emailed to us. We thoroughly enjoyed the course and we are eager to put our learnings in practice over the coming weeks! We’ll look into joining you for another course next year. All the best, Olivier & Angela”. New Forest course: November 2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Thank you for the course notes.  They are a great reinforcement to a very well organised and presented course. The course itself was great fun, very instructive and very enjoyable.  Steve is a great tutor and I, who have been into photography for over 50 years, learnt a lot both in terms of improving my techniques but also about the better use of my DSLR. I shall certainly be looking at the other courses you have on offer.  Many, many thanks”.  Mike Doyle, Norfolk Course, May 2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Thank you for the notes.  I really enjoyed yesterday’s course. It was instructional and fun and I learnt a lot. He set us challenges which certainly made us think.  Paul, Christina and I were quite flattered when Steve described us as experienced photographers – not sure we are, but we’ve learnt a lot from our camera club and now more from Steve.  It was good to meet the other two participants also. I really appreciated that he knew about my camera, The Panasonic FZ1000. Most people, including some professionals have no idea about the 1″ sensor advanced bridge cameras, and when you mention it, look blank or look down on it because it’s not an interchangeable lens camera from Canon on Nikon. I’m certainly considering doing more courses with Steve in the future because of his teaching and the locations he offers.  Which one though?.. so much choice! Many thanks for a great day” Anita Ettershank, Essex course, May 2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Many thanks for sending me so quickly the photography notes, which I look forward to studying. I would like to thank you for a most informative and enjoyable day. You struck just the right balance between technical information, artistic guidelines and practical advice, all of which was most helpful. You covered a lot of things I “sort of” knew, but I came away with a much more confident understanding of them, and I learned some valuable new techniques as well. And on top of all this you made it fun”. Martin Rist, New Forest, April 2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Just an e-mail to say I have received your notes, thank you.  Also I want to say thank you for a excellent day out on Saturday. Your enthusiasm made the day a pleasure and the other students were great to learn with. I am already looking at which course to do next so look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future”.  Geoff Upward, Kent Photography Course, March 2017

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Just a quick note to thank you so much for a really great week. I feel I’ve learnt and gained so much more confidence this week with my photography which is due to your expert and sensitive tuition. Not only has it been great photographically but I’ve really enjoyed the social aspect of the week. I feel we gelled well as a group and had a lot of fun in addition to the serious aspects of the week. This would not have been possible without your motivation, kindness and ensuring that everyone felt welcome and part of the group at all times. Thank you so very much and I really hope I can come on another of your courses (when I can find one with spaces!! ) very soon”. Adrian Lowe-Wheeler, Venice Carnival course: February 2017

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Can I say thank you to Steve for such a worthwhile day, I’ve learnt lots and have a lot to take away and practice. The day was much better than expected and I had a great time, so a big thank you Steve”.  Martin McCloed, one-to-one student, February 2017 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

I had to let you know how pleased I am with my voucher and how stylishly you presented it. It will make a lovely gift a pleasure to give. Thank you so much”! Diane Payne – Gift voucher purchaser, Christmas,2016
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
“Many thanks for the notes etc, will make for some interesting bedtime reading!  On a more serious note I am sure they will be useful and good for reference. This was my first photography workshop and I was not sure what I would get from it, but have to say that I enjoyed it immensely and found the other participants great fun.  The time you took to explain settings etc will be very useful going forward and I certainly learnt much more than I expected. Once again many thanks for a most enjoyable few hours, all the best to you and yours”.  Yo Gladman, London Night Photography course, November 2016

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Thank you for the notes. I had a fantastic weekend. Not only did it help my photography skills enormously but the company was so enjoyable. My husband couldn’t believe the amount of time we spent out and about – real value for money. Regards. Wynne”   Wynne Ashlin, Norfolk three-day photography course, September 2016

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Hi Steve!  Received all the notes, thank you.  I had a great day and I learnt a lot, on how to use the camera and on taking a picture.  I think the mark of a good trainer is having someone say, I would like to have that person teach me again. Let me say I would use you again on another course.  Thank you for a great day”.  Martin Geiss, New Forest Location course, August 2016

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Just a quick email to say many thanks for a really great and informative course on Friday in Suffolk. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole day and look forward to applying the principles and ideas that we learnt during the day.Hope to try out one of your London evening photo courses soon…” Jon Bawden, Suffolk Coast Course, June 2016

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thank you for a great course last weekend. Norfolk is a really lovely place for photography and you showed us some great locations. I will definitely be visiting again.  Slowly going through my pictures,  I have so many to keep and work on, it’s becoming hard to choose the best. Maybe I should take less next time.

The Happisburgh ones are really nice; we were so lucky with the weather there. Steve always seemed to have the knack of matching the location to the weather and to what we were being taught at the time”. Keith Payne, Norfolk two-day course: May 2016


“Notes received thanks. These are really helpful and I found the course to be fantastic. Thanks for all who organised it and especially to Steve for his patience and great ” teaching/training skills” . Unlike a previous course I once went on ( and paid a lot of money for) he had a great way of getting across the basics without making me feel stupid, really enjoyed and once I have practiced a bit I will be ready to upgrade my camera and come on another course. Thanks again”. Patricia Dabrowski, Kent Course, May 2016


“Thank you very much for the notes. I look forward to going through them. The course was excellent – it was fantastic that so much was covered in a single day and I now feel much more comfortable using my camera – please pass on my thanks to Steve”!  Anna Gallagher, one-to-one photography student – April 2016


“I really enjoyed the day and was amazed that I learned so much about my camera that I was previously unaware of! Great day, great timing of event (we thought Steve arranged the weather too 😉   Thanks for the photography notes – no chance to read and review yet but will do this week. This evening I have downloaded the pics I took and with a few exceptions were considerably better than many of my earlier shots.  Thanks once again”, Laurence Duffell, Sussex Coast Course. April 2016


“I had a great day yesterday, thank you.  So much to remember, the notes will be very useful to look through at my leisure.  I’m looking forward to my next course in May. Many thanks for a great day, your help and patience. Regards”   Paul Lawrence, Suffolk Coast, March 2016


“He was an extremely exciting speaker at our photography club on Thursday and someone who I feel sure would be inspirational to be around on a workshop. I know everyone that evening thoroughly enjoyed Steve’s talk and some of the club have already attended his courses, which I hope to be doing during the year” Adrian Lowe-Wheeler, Camera Club talk attendee, February 2016


“Hi, just to let you know that the course notes that you supply after the day’s photography workshop came through just fine. Can you also thank Steve for an enjoyable and very informative day. Tell him that I’ve been clicking away at everything of interest in manual mode and it’s all his fault! If anyone is thinking of booking a lesson with Steve and they’d like a reference, give them my e mail address for a recommendation. Great fun and great value for money.
Many thanks,
Allan”. Allan Flight, Flatford Mill course, June 2015


“Just wanted to say “thank you” again for our brilliant photography day with you a few weeks ago. We had a great time, thoroughly enjoyed it, can’t believe how much we learnt! We had a few days in Kielder Forest the week after which gave us a really good opportunity to practice what we’d learnt. In particular using the histogram all the time, moving the focal point around and generally considering composition has helped a lot and added new interest to taking better photos rather than just recording memories.
Your notes are really useful and the locations on the River Chelmer were so varied and interesting. We really appreciated all your hard work, patience and good humour and feel our photography has improved loads. Hopefully we can fit in another date before our holiday.
Will be happy to recommend you to friends and family, thank you again”. Mick and Alison Gaunt, Two-to-one photography tuition day, June 2015


“Just a quick “Thank you” for the recent course and the time you took to explain and show the power and use of Photoshop. An excellent course giving me the basic tools to explore and practice this facet of photography which had been a closed shop to me before.
Great teaching skills and patience! Thanks again”. Terry Scott, Digital Imaging course: May/June 2015


“I thoroughly enjoyed the workshop on Saturday and gained a great deal from Steve, who is an excellent tutor by the way. I have received the notes as mentioned and look forward to doing more workshops in the future”. David Hazelton, London photography course, April 2015


“Even though I have been on 3 of your courses now there is always something new to learn and you have inspired me to dust off that wide angle lens and give it a go” – Keith Payne, Kent photography course (2)– March 2015


“I just wanted to say that it was a great pleasure to hear your talk last night. It was comprehensive and understandable. We got a lot of information that was delivered with humour and enthusiasm – one of the best (if not the best) talks I have attended since I joined about 10 years ago!!
The best part was that it made me think about how I make my images and not just which lens to use.
Thanks again and I am happy for you to use this as an unsolicited endorsement”. Regards, Vic Prior, West Mersea Camera Club. March 2015


“Just a quick note to thank you for the advanced photography course completed tonight. Still utterly amazed at how cheap the course was compared to the huge amount of information, tips and advice that I have learnt over the past 6 weeks. Brilliant. I am going to miss the weekly sessions; they really gave me a focus each week for improvement. I would not hesitate to recommend the course to others.
I am really interested in joining the group for exhibiting work, never done this before – so please do add me to the email distribution list.
I know I will be back on one of your many trips and activities in the future. Thanks again”. Tracy Jenkins, advanced photography course – November through to December 2014


“Just wanted to pass on my thanks for a truly awesome workshop last Sunday and also to let you know that I successfully received all your comprehensive notes. All that remains now is to put your words of wisdom into practice. Thanks once again and I very much look forward to participating in one of your workshops again in the near future”. Steve Youens, Suffolk Coast course – October 2014


“Many thanks for the course notes which have arrived safely. I must also thank you for such a brilliant course. All the arrangements worked perfectly and I learned a huge amount about the art and science of photography. I have reviewed my 736 photos and there are some that I am very pleased with. Steve, your unflagging enthusiasm and encouragement were an inspiration to us all”. Martin Gill, Brecon Beacons course, Sept 2014


“Just a note to say how much I enjoyed yesterday’s course. A great day where I learned such a lot. Going out on location really helped to put everything in perspective and hopefully helped me to retain all that I learned. Onwards and upwards now! See you on the Chelmer course”. Pat Marshall, Classroom/location course, May 2014


“Just wanted to say “thank you” again for our brilliant photography day with you a few weeks ago. We had a great time, thoroughly enjoyed it, can’t believe how much we learnt! We had a few days in Kielder Forest the week after which gave us a really good opportunity to practice what we’d learnt. In particular using the histogram all the time, moving the focal point around and generally considering composition has helped a lot and added new interest to taking better photos rather than just recording memories.
Your notes are really useful and the locations on the River Chelmer were so varied and interesting. We really appreciated all your hard work, patience and good humour and feel our photography has improved loads. Hopefully we can fit in another date before our holiday.
Will be happy to recommend you to friends and family, thank you again”. Mick and Alison Gaunt, Two-to-one photography tuition day, June 2015


Thank you Steve, for a great day’s shooting in the Chelmer Valley. I particularly enjoyed the way you talked about a particular aspect of photography and then took us to an ideal location where we were able to try to capture those ideas on camera. It was the first time for me in that part of the country, but an area I will try to return to”. Mike Burt: Chelmer Valley, March 2014


“Thank you so much for the Venice trip. I took 1600 pictures and had such a wonderful time. Everything was so well organised and the teaching was brilliant”. Bill Bliss, Venice Carnival 2014


“Thanks very much. I was amazed on the day at how the time just flew by. Definitely inspired now to “compose” more and “snap” less! A tripod will be my trusty companion now. Great Day”. Malcolm Stone, Sussex Coast, March 2014


“Many thanks for the notes. It was a brilliant course. Steve covered so much in a short space of time, I will now need to spend a good few week going back over the notes and digesting everything”. Jacqui Price: Six week classroom-based intermediate course, Sept/Oct 2013.


Student Photography with Steve Hedges Student Photography with Steve Hedges Student Photography with Steve Hedges Student Photography with Steve Hedges
“Really enjoyed the day yesterday and going to take your notes (plus my camera) on holiday to the Isle of Wight next week so I’m hoping to improve my photography with your help plus a new lens and filter. Thanks again for a very informative day and your great presentation”. Peter Jackson: Kent Coast course: August 2013


“I just wanted to write and say what a brilliant day I had yesterday and thanks for your excellent tuition. I really do appreciate your help and your patience. The day has given me a great foundation from which to progress”. Gary Mead, one-to-one student: June 2013


“Loved every minute of my day and a lovely bunch of fellows too!! Steve is so enthusiastic and helpful. Can’t wait to do another course. Would you thank Steve very much indeed for a hugely enjoyable and instructive day” Fanny Brogden: Dungeness and Rye photography workshop, June 2013


“Thank you for a most interesting and enjoyable day. You unlocked the power of my camera in a most informative and enjoyable way. Your choice of locations in order to demonstrate a specific set of camera settings/functionality whilst combining this with lessons on the creative aspect of photography made for a seamless but informative learning experience. Your course notes are straightforward and easy to follow; this combined with your boundless enthusiasm for your art and open teaching style made for a most enjoyable day. I now have a much better understanding of the potential of my camera and a new hunger to experiment with photography” Ian Reid, Chelmer Valley course: March 2013


“Hi Steve, Just a quick line to say thank you for an enjoyable day on Sunday. I picked up quite a few pointers and now find I am thinking more about taking a photo instead of pointing and pressing. I had some very nice shots from the day”. David Martin.


“Great course. Thoroughly recommend it for a beginner like me who barely knew my camera before I attended the course. However, Steve showed me all it could do and what great photos I could take with a bit of knowledge and preparation. So much more fun than sitting down with a manual. I learnt so much, my brain ached from concentrating so hard – but in a satisfying way!! The pace felt just right, the locations excellent and the pitch was perfect. It was a delightful way to spend a beautiful sunny day. The course notes provided were clear and concise and have proved useful since attending the course. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Steve’s courses to friends and family (already have) and will certainly book another course in the future. Many thanks Steve”. Louise Grimwood.


Student Photography with Steve Hedges Student Photography with Steve Hedges Student Photography with Steve Hedges Student Photography with Steve Hedges
“Dear Steve, I can’t thank you enough for coming down to help us today. You are a very good teacher and explained everything in a way that is easy to understand. I shall look at your notes that you provided regularly so that it reinforces what we learnt today. I didn’t realise that Portchester Castle had so many photographic opportunities! Your ‘checklist’ of things to think about was really helpful. Thank you. Above all, I no longer feel frightened of all the buttons on my camera and will do my best to keep away from ‘automatic’ mode”. Cherry Harnott.


“Hi Steve! A bouquet and a complaint! The bouquet – my thanks for a brilliant day yesterday. I learnt a lot and the eight hours passed by very quickly in the company of yourself and my three fellow students. I will be keeping an eye on your website and will look forward to meeting you again for some great tuition. The complaint – at 3 o’clock this morning my mind was still whirring away on exposure compensation, white balance etc etc……. With best wishes” Bob.


“A well planned course covering a vast subject. Lots covered in the five weeks, thoroughly enjoyable” Mark B. Digital Imaging course.


“Excellent course. I really enjoyed your enthusiasm for the subject. Very happy with the course and well worth the money”. Dave, six week Intermediate course.


“Just wanted to say thank you for an excellent day on Sunday. I learnt more on that day than I have over the past year. I am pleased with the results and am excited about developing my skills further”. Caron Betts.


“A must for all levels”. Ian Chasmer. Advanced photography course – classroom based.


“These lessons will do more for your photography than any amount of kit you will buy”. Steve Johnson, Beginner’s, Intermediate, Digital Imaging and Advanced course. 2011


“I have learnt more during the last year then I have done in twenty years of reading books. Very informative and fun too”! Dave Tanner, all classroom courses.
“The course was a birthday present and probably the most enjoyable I have ever had. Thank you so much for the notes. They are a great way of backing up what was an informative and enjoyable day. The patience from Steve was great” Ernest Hankey, Suffolk Coast Course – summer 2010.


“Thoroughly enjoyed my day. Already looking at remote switch and tripods……………The notes you have provided are extremely helpful”. Alison Kenny – spring 2011


“Thank you for a most enjoyable and informative day in the Chelmer Valley. I found it most useful to back up theoretical knowledge with some practical experience. I hope to learn more from you in the future”. Celia Alawi, Spring 2011


“Just wanted to say thank you for the course. You made it enjoyable and informative. I have learnt so much and am really looking forward to getting some great shots over the year”. Cathy Coffey – Six-week Intermediate course – Spring 2011


“Thanks so much for the course yesterday. I found this really helpful and am now feeling so much more confident progressing with my photography. Please keep me in touch as regards the Exhibition group and the photography get-togethers”. Hannah Strick, Spring 2011


“Just wanted to say thank you for the course. You made it enjoyable and informative. I have learnt so much and am really looking forward to getting some great shots over the year”. Cathy Coffey – Six-week Intermediate course – Spring 2011


“Thanks so much for the course yesterday. I found this really helpful and am now feeling so much more confident progressing with my photography. Please keep ,e in touch as regards the Exhibition group and the photography get-togethers”. Hannah Strick, Spring 2011


“Just a quick mail to say thank you for Sunday (15-05-11) You made it an informative day without exploding our brains with too much info! I enjoyed the locations too. I will probably sign up for one of your other workshops or join you for one of your photography ‘Days out’. I really enjoyed it. So much so that I’ve decided I want a better camera now!” Peter Gilbert.


“I have re-done the exercise on leading and diagonal lines and feel I now have a real appreciation and understanding of what this exercise is about. Also, just to let you know I have received lesson two of the course and have read through that and intend starting the projects next week. Thanks again for a great course, Steve. I am thoroughly enjoying it and learning lots and lots”. John Keogh – Distance Learning course student. 2011


“Can you pass on my thanks and gratitude to Steve for the course and his invaluable training. It’s really ignited my desire to just get out there and take photos and for them to come out how I actually want! Thanks very much also for the notes. I’ve already read through them again and I’m sure it won’t be the last time!” Andy Janes, Kent coast, Sept. 2011


“Please will you pass on my thanks to Steve for the course which I really enjoyed. It is great to share a day with like-minded people and learn a lot whilst doing it. The only downside is that I am now severely tempted to rush out and buy more (expensive) equipment. Top of my list is a set of Lee filters including the “big stopper” and of course a rain sleeve for my camera so I have no excuse for not going out in poor weather”. Terry Nelson – February 2013 – Suffolk Coast

Courses Available

About Us